White Sox Perfect Game and Magical Thinking

By Diane Hiller

In my last post “There’s No Crying in Baseball,” I mentioned the rarity of a perfect game. I wrote that the day I was born, Don Larsen pitched a no-hitter in the fifth game of the World Series.  Not just a no-hitter but a perfect game. I never thought that one week later to the day; I would be staring at a scoreboard with all zeros along the bottom for the opposing team and a perfect game pitched by one of our own. Philip Humber pitched the 21st perfect game in baseball history for the Chicago White Sox on Saturday, the 21st of April, at Safeco Field in Seattle.

Mark Buehrle pitched one in 2009, but before that you have to go all the way back to 1922 when Charlie Robertson did it for the White Sox. There are very few things in life that are perfect. That is why this resonates so with sports fans and those that don’t follow sports. Life is not perfect. We are human and make mistakes. Things happen to us along the paths we take. So when something like this unfolds over nine innings before our eyes, it’s almost magical, it’s special, serendipitous. It makes us all feel good. We want to share in it.

That must have been just what I was thinking as I lay my head down to sleep last night. My dream of magical thinking went like this:  Maybe by writing about a perfect game in baseball, I put it out there in the universe and à la as in “The Secret,” positive thoughts about pitching a perfect game emanates from my blog post.  Someone on the White Sox reads my post about a perfect game and passes it around the Chicago White Sox locker room. Humber is the last to read it and walks out onto the field with my article fresh in his mind and “throws” himself into the history books−hey it could happen. Or the guy could be really talented and everything came together for him on one fateful 21st of April−that might be it too.

But just in case, let’s get to work thinking about a perfect game pitched at Wrigley Field by the Cubs this season. That would certainly be historic; two teams in the same city both pitching perfect games the same year.  Start sending out those positive vibes, you never know. See you at the ballpark!

Mary Schmich−Nobel Prize Winner

Congratulations to Mary Schmich of the Chicago Tribune for her winning the Pulitzer Prize for Commentary. You can read her award winning articles here. Don’t forget to follow the links on the Patch to some great blogs and articles too.

We’ve had a great week: A perfect game and a Pulitzer Prize—way to go Chicago!

What do you think about perfect games, baseball and Pulitzer Prizes? Leave me a comment on the link below.

.http://hinsdale.patch.com/blog_posts/a-perfect-game-humber-makes-history

About Diane Hiller

Diane has lived in the suburbs of Chicago for twenty-five years. While raising her three children with husband Jon, she has served as village president and now supports historic preservation with the Clarendon Hills Historical Society. Diane’s blog “Pleasant Valley Sunday” appears on TheHinsdalePatch.com. and chlife.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to White Sox Perfect Game and Magical Thinking

  1. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and
    say I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thanks for your time!

  2. Diane — Because I think you were partially responsible for Phil Humber’s perfect game (magical thinking and all), I’m crossing my fingers that the Cubs get one too — just not during the Cross-Town Classic! 🙂

    By the way, I just nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger Award! See the details of the nomination here: http://thethingaboutjoan.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/kreativ-blogger-award-2/

    Love reading your blog — thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Lose Weight says:

    I am just getting started on the Internet. I am retired now. I am reading blogs on many topics, and commenting too. I think that you have to put some attention on a blog to bring it above the dry and boring verbage that is common, and you have definitely accomplished that. I have started my own blog and website. I have incuded a website and email address. Is it ok that I included them? TheVeryBest2You 13 9

Leave a Reply

